Condition
Facial wrinkles
11 compounds were checked against facial wrinkles. 4 earned a graded row; the rest are named below.
Last updated
Recorded under Skin ageing, alongside 2 other indications.
Compounds with a graded row
Ordered by rung, strongest first. The rung rates the study design; the chip beside it says what the study measured. Both are needed.
-
Hexapeptide-9
human RCT Direct outcome Not approved for this condition
- Who was studied
- adult men and women with ageing skin, n not reported in the abstract; topical 0.002% serum twice daily, 56 days
A randomised, double-blind, vehicle- and active-controlled 56-day trial of a topical 0.002% cyclized hexapeptide-9 serum measured crow's feet and forehead wrinkle number, area and roughness against a 0.002% retinol serum and vehicle, and reported larger reductions than retinol on all measured wrinkle outcomes except crow's feet roughness. The tested material is a cyclized variant, not plain hexapeptide-9, and the enrolled number was not reported in the abstract.
Source DOI 1 primary source read for this row
-
Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 (Matrixyl)
human RCT Direct outcome Not approved for this condition
- Who was studied
- Caucasian women aged 35-55, n=93, topical (3 ppm pal-KTTKS in a moisturiser), 12 weeks, split-face left-right randomised
A 12-week double-blind, split-face, randomised comparison of a moisturiser with and without 3 ppm palmitoyl pentapeptide-4 measured facial wrinkles and fine lines directly, by quantitative image analysis and expert grading, and reported improvement versus the placebo side. It is a single cosmetic-industry trial in one narrow population; no independent replication is on file, and the peptide has no regulatory approval for any skin condition.
Source DOI 1 primary source read for this row
-
Argireline (Acetyl Hexapeptide-3)
human observational Direct outcome Not approved for this condition
- Who was studied
- adult women, n=19, topical hyaluronic acid serum with and without Argireline applied to opposite sides of the face, 4 weeks
A double-blind, within-subject split-face study measured facial wrinkle scores by Visia imaging after 4 weeks and found no statistically significant wrinkle reduction on the Argireline side. Randomisation of side allocation was not reported, so this is graded below human_rct despite the vehicle control. It is the only controlled human wrinkle study of Argireline alone on file; every other human study of it is a multi-ingredient formulation from which the peptide's own contribution cannot be separated.
Source PubMed 1 primary source read for this row
-
Snap-8
human observational Direct outcome Not approved for this condition
- Who was studied
- 24 healthy adults, dissolving microneedle patch containing acetyl octapeptide-3 with L-ascorbic acid 2-glucoside and cyclic lysophosphatidic acid on a hyaluronic acid backbone, applied overnight to one periorbital side against a hyaluronic-acid-only placebo patch on the other, assessed over 28 days
The only human trial with a wrinkle outcome tested the peptide inside a four-ingredient patch against a hyaluronic-acid-only placebo, and reported improved eye wrinkles, elasticity and trans-epidermal water loss on the treated side. It is a single manufacturer-run study of 24 subjects, and the design cannot say which ingredient did the work. No trial of acetyl octapeptide-3 on its own has ever measured a wrinkle. Rung set by review: twenty-four adults with the placebo patch on the other side of the same face; controlled, manufacturer-run, and never described as randomised.
Source PubMed 7 primary sources read for this row
Recorded absences
2 compounds are listed here without a rung. Each row exists to mark a distinction a reader would otherwise draw wrongly, and each says what is missing rather than leaving the compound off the page.
-
Melanotan I
No rung — nothing on file to grade Not approved for this condition
No study has measured wrinkles for this compound.
-
Myristoyl Pentapeptide-17
No rung — nothing on file to grade Not approved for this condition
No study of myristoyl pentapeptide-17 has measured a wrinkle. The peptide appears in the literature only inside eyelash and hair-growth serums (PMID 32308787, PMID 31049335), both open-label, multi-ingredient and manufacturer-funded, and eyelash growth is not a condition in this corpus.
Checked, and nothing recorded
5 compounds were checked against facial wrinkles and produced no gradeable row.
- Dipeptide Diaminobutyroyl Benzylamide Diacetate — checked, no row on file
- Palmitoyl Tripeptide-1 — checked, no row on file
- Pentapeptide-18 — checked, no row on file
- Tetrapeptide-21 — checked, no row on file
- Tripeptide-10 Citrulline — checked, no row on file
A compound is here because someone looked and the sources did not support a row — not because nobody looked. Under the rubric, uncertainty resolves to no row, and a row resting on a vendor page or a clinic blog is worse than no row at all.
What this page does not say
It reports what was measured, in whom, and how directly. It does not say what to take or at what dose, and a row here is a record of a study rather than a reason to use anything. Every rung links to the rubric that assigned it.